Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Ryan Seacreast Has Got Nothing On WMAL!


The Washington, DC region’s major News/Talk station, 630 WMAL, was again honored in July to receive two prestigious National Association of Broadcasters Marconi Radio Awards nominations.  For the second year in a row, The Grandy & Andy Morning Show is a finalist in the category of “Major Market Personality of the Year.”  And 630 WMAL is the only AM station in the country to be nominated in the category of “Major Market Station of the Year.”
Fred Grandy and Andy Parks, co-hosts of the popular morning show which runs from 5:00am-9:00am weekdays, are competing against four other nominees, including Eric & Kathy, WTMX-FM Chicago; John & Ken, KFI-AM Los Angeles; Glenn Ordway, WEEI-AM Boston and Ryan Seacrest, KIIS-FM Los Angeles.
Last year, 630 WMAL was one of five nationwide nominees recognized by members of the National Association of Broadcasters for excellence in broadcasting in the format of “News/Talk Station of the Year.”  This year, the station competes against all stations of all formats, including KBWF-FM San Francisco; KIIS-FM Los Angeles; KOIT-FM San Francisco and WBLS-FM New York.  Winners will be announced at the NAB Radio Show in Austin, Texas on September 18th.
“The Marconi award is the most prestigious award in radio, and it is truly an honor to be recognized by our peers,” said 630 WMAL President and General Manager Chris Berry.
“I couldn’t be happier for our team,” said 630 WMAL Operations Director Paul Duckworth.  “This kind of recognition is the result of the dedication of some very talented people – I’m honored to be along for the ride.”
630 WMAL is the Citadel Broadcasting-owned News/Talk station serving Washington, DC, and the states of Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia.  In addition to the “Grandy & Andy Morning Show,” the station’s weekday line-up includes Chris Plante from 9:00am-Noon, Rush Limbaugh from 12:00n-3:00pm, Sean Hannity from 3:00pm-6:00pm, and Mark Levin from 6:00pm-8:00pm.

Established in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi, the NAB Marconi Radio Awards are given to radio stations and outstanding on-air personalities to recognize excellence in radio.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.